Peeling back the layers

Since we’ve been making some headway on our master bedroom I’ve been excited to start a mini makeover for our tiny airplane en suite master bathroom.  I think this room is about 4′ x 4′.  Not joking.  Here’s my attempt to take a picture:

tiny master bathroomNot long ago I posted my inspiration mood board for the space–a “for now” until we undertake a more major reno which we planned for next year:

Airplane bathroom inspirationSo I recently went in there and got to work with step 1: removing the old granny wallpaper.  I also removed the awful medicine cabinet over the toilet since I planned to install open shelves there instead.  To my surprise and amusement, I removed the cabinet and found this:

CIMG4015Tiny strips of the ghost of wallpaper past!  I’m not entirely sure what era this is from, but if I had to guess I’d say later 60s.  You can see too how reflective this stuff because there’s such a glare coming off of it!  I can hardly imagine how loud this tiny room must have been with that covering all the walls!  DH and I definitely had a good laugh.

But then, when the last strip of wallpaper came off, the laughter died.  We found this:

wall damage mold in bathroomGigantic uh-oh.  That is some very extensive mold.  Our house inspector did mention that there might be a bit of a leak with the shower faucet, but he didn’t seem to think it was a big deal.  But upon finding this DH and I sleuthed around a bit more and noticed some significant bowing of some of the shower tiles, and lots of tiles that felt spongy when pressed, which I assume is another sign of extensive water damage from a leaking shower.  Not good.  

Needless to say DH and I are pretty discouraged.  The whole point of moving to a house with more bathrooms it to be able to use them, but now we have a house with just 1.5 bathrooms, which doesn’t really help with hosting overnight guests!  So we’re trying to figure out if we can swing moving up the bathroom remodel to later this year–and putting our mini makeover on hold.  We’re bummed but we’re trying not to get too down about it.  On the plus side, we’ll get a better bathroom sooner than planned.  Just one more major reno to live through…

Cheers,

G

15 thoughts on “Peeling back the layers

  1. Buying a house can be so exciting and discouraging. When we bought our house the inspector didn’t tell us that the roof was leaking and after the first rain we quickly discovered the leak.

    • Oh that’s terrible! Luckily our roof isn’t leaking yet, but we knew when we bought the house that we’d need to replace it. It is no fun to spend money on something that you don’t really see or spend much time looking at! I hope you were able to get it fixed :)
      Cheers,
      G

  2. That sucks that you ran into a road block, but it is better that you found this sooner rather than later, before it caused even more damage. I am working on a bathroom renovation right now. We kicked it off last weekend. So far we have not hit any snags, and I am hoping that we don’t. Good luck to you! And I hope you get to start your big bathroom renovation soon!

  3. Oh no! That’s terrible! Hopefully the damage isn’t too extensive and it’s a reasonably easy fix. I guess at least you get a pretty bathroom sooner rather than later.
    I’m still refusing to deal with the shower in our basement bathroom. I think it’s grosser than I can fix. I keep hoping to run into the bath/house crashers guy at Lowe’s to come make all my dreams come true.

      • I know! I always tell my husband if he sees any of them at the hardware store to not even call me, to just beg them to come home with him.
        At this point we’ve never used the shower down there. I hung up a curtain so I can pretend it doesn’t exist. I think when we get to that point it’s just going to have to be replaced. It’s pretty nasty. And small. And dark.

    • I hope not! I think ours has probably been an issue for as long as the bathroom has been there–probably as long as I’ve been alive! But better safe of course. Glad you got your caulk on ;)
      Cheers,
      G

    • Yeah, I saw you were getting your caulk on the other day! Isn’t home ownership fun? I think you’re doing the right thing but I’m sure you don’t have an extensive issue like the one we found. I’m pretty sure this has been a problem for at least 20 years…
      Cheers,
      G

  4. Pingback: One Shade of Gray | the2bedroomblues

  5. Pingback: End of summer hiatus | the2bedroomblues

  6. Pingback: master bath planning | the2bedroomblues

  7. Pingback: sketching with tape | the2bedroomblues

I welcome your feedback, ideas, and comments!

