2BB Holiday Hiatus: a lesson in (not) having it all

Been wondering where the 2BB has been these past few weeks?  Well, things have been in full holiday swing around our place, and I found out that despite my best efforts, the old cliché is true: you can’t do it all.  Or at least I can’t!  I decided that rather than try to keep up the ‘ol blog over the holidays detailing all my ideas for organized gift giving and wrapping and holiday decor ideas for tiny spaces, I should make sure that my daughter’s first holiday season was special.  So I’m trying to keep track of all the ideas I’ve had this past year and hopefully share them next year, when I hope to plan ahead enough to do both!

I think I’ve learned an important lesson this holiday season: there is a limit to how much being organized can help you do it all.  After a certain point, you really do run out of well-organized-and-effieciently-used time.  This was a hard lesson for me to learn.  But when it does happen, what I learned is that you have to do what it makes sense to do in may situations: make a list of all the things that need to get done, and then rank them in order of importance.  Then, use the list to decide what you need to say “no” or “later” to.  For us this holiday season, it meant saying no to some things (hosting a holiday party and spending time on the blog) to make sure the more important things (having a Christmas morning with wrapped gifts under the tree, making Christmas cookies as a family, visiting friends and family, etc.) would happen.

I’m sure this is the first of many compromises we’ll make in the future now that we have a whole new human being that is depending on us.  But of course it is totally worth it, in the end.  Want proof?  Take a peek at Sydney on our “Christmas morning” (actually the week before Christmas to allow us to travel for the the holiday):

But for those of you who are interested in the goings-on here at the 2BB, rest assured that there will be plenty in the new year to distract you from work or–hopefully–inspire you to tackle projects in your own life or home.  To keep you interested until the new year, here are a few things in the works:

  • New Years organizing resolutions
  • New Year house projects (rug swapping?  finally finishing the nursery?  finding more space somewhere?!?)
  • more ideas for an organized morning
  • (hopefully) some easy sewing projects
  • my actual work space
  • meal planning tips and recipe organizing ideas
  • favorite books on design and organization

Happy happy holidays from the 2BB!!    See you in the new year!!!

I welcome your feedback, ideas, and comments!

