Dining room re-do design ideas

As I mentioned in my recent post, I’m working on a rather large re-do project in our dining room.  I’ve been busily working on figuring out what kind of look and feel I want our newly designed dining room to have, so I thought I’d share a bit about  my ideas and my process.

I’ve been on a bit of an aqua kick for a little while now, and have been intrigued by the idea of trying a light shade of it for dining room.  I’ve especially been enjoying seeing how these colors work with other colors that I love such as pear green:

For example, I like the look and feel of this room I recently re-pinned on Pinterest:

Or with little pops of one of my long time favorites (which we used to have in our bedroom).  Fabulous, attention-grabbing red:

Interestingly, when I started working on this post the other day I got my daily email about the latest sale at Joss & Main (you can request an invite to this site, via my membership*, here) and lo and behold, it was focused on what they were calling “cerulean and scarlet.”

I’d be the first to admit that I can sometimes be a color commitment-phobe (as evidenced by our changes-with-the-seasons kitchen).  So before jumping into anything, I’ve been gathering ideas for color schemes and textiles (like rugs, curtains, etc.) over the past several months and revisiting them every so often to see if I still like them.  The plan is to keep tweaking my ideas until when I look at everything all together I no longer want to change a thing.  I’ve used Pinterest to help gather my ideas a bit, but I’ve also been creating a series of inspiration slides as well.  I thought it might be fun–for a few of you at least–to see how the design scheme has evolved over the last few months.  It is a fun process to go through if you like this sort of thing–and I’d definitely encourage others to try it!

I started with this slide, which has some of the “bones” I was pretty sure would be in the room–light aqua walls, our black buffet, and the banquette (all mentioned in my recent post about the new layout plan for the room):

Then as my ideas evolved, I added the IKEA Besta storage I’m looking at getting and the curtains that are currently in the room; I also lightened up the color of the walls a bit and used a slightly less bright shade of aqua:

Finally, I added some pattern with some curtains I think are really fabulous without being too “loud” and swapped out the blue striped rug for a more neutral one:

This slide makes me feel pretty darn excited about getting started on the room.  Which tells me that I’m probably ready to get started with this project (which I’d love to have finished before Sydney’s first birthday in June). Just to keep my options open, I decided to create two more slides showing how I might change the accessories in the room with the seasons.  Here’s what I might do in Spring/Summer (including my wedding china):

And in the Fall and Winter I’d switch to my other set of china (I can’t help it…dishes are one of my many vices!) and bring in some other pops of scarlet:

So there you have it–my latest design ideas for our dining room re-do.  I’m not totally sold on everything yet, but I think I’m making progress.  I’d love to hear what you think and if you have any ideas I maybe haven’t thought of yet!

*If you join using my Joss & Main link, I do get a small credit to my account if you purchase something.  I’d recommend joining anyway even if not through me, but I wanted to make sure to disclose that perk!

4 thoughts on “Dining room re-do design ideas

  1. Pingback: Mixing neutrals? | the2bedroomblues

  2. Pingback: Finding space: our kitchen remodel | the2bedroomblues

  3. Pingback: A red carpet | the2bedroomblues

  4. Pingback: Two more Bs at the 2BB: Besta + Banquette | the2bedroomblues

I welcome your feedback, ideas, and comments!

