Keeping the duvet cover in place

Around this time last year I started to embark on a rather extensive re-do of our tiny master bedroom.  It went from this:

to this:

Much of the inspiration for the room came from that fabulous quatrefoil duvet cover, which I just love.  Unfortunately, the duvet itself is a bit on the cheaper side than others I’ve owned through the years from Pottery Barn, West Elm, and even Target (this one I ordered from amazon.com).  In addition to the fabric itself being quite thin, there is no way to secure the duvet cover to the actual comforter/duvet.  Which, as you can imagine, is fairly problematic.  It gets, to use the most descriptive word I can think of, bunchy.

After living with bunchy covers for most of the past year, I decided it was finally time to do something about it.  Most of the other duvet covers I’ve owned through the years came with ties in each corner so you could tie the duvet cover to the comforter, so I decided to DIY something similar–and it has worked great!  Here’s what I did using basic white twill tape, a scissors, and a couple of minutes at the sewing machine.

Step 1: Remove the comforter from the duvet cover.  Turn the duvet cover inside out and locate a corner.

Step 2:  Cut 4 strips of twill tape (I did ones about 10 inches long).  Fold one in half and secure to the interior seam of the corner with a pin at the fold.

Step 3:  Sew forwards and backwards a few times over the twill tape, securing it to the seam of the duvet:

Step 5: Repeat this process with the remaining strips of twill tape on the remaining three corners.

Step 6: Re-insert the comforter into the duvet cover, tying each corner of the comforter to the cover using your newly sewn ties.

Step 7: Take a nap.  You’ve earned it!

3 thoughts on “Keeping the duvet cover in place

  1. sorry this is a very blonde question – you sew the ties to the duvet and then tie them to what? ties you’ve sewn into the corners of the cover?? maybe I missed this on your steps – thx!!!

    • No problem! I guess I didn’t really explain that part very well! I just tied the tie around the corner of the duvet cover itself. I grabbed the corner, tied it around so about 1″ was past the tie, and then shook the whole thing out. I hope that helps but let me know if that still doesn’t make sense!

      Cheers,
      G

      • SO very blonde — so you tie the ties to the corner of the inside of the duvet cover? I made a trip to joann fabrics and was distracted by fabric for a quilt and drove home without the twill tape I had gone there to buy! I will try again, thanks for your response 😉

I welcome your feedback, ideas, and comments!

