Curtain Call

In keeping with the recent theme of dressing up all our windows (bedroom, nursery, kitchen), I thought I’d share the great patterned curtains that are now up in the dining room!  I’d had my eye on them for a long time, as you can see from the mood board I created early this spring:

I’ve been slowly turning our dining room into a lighter, brighter, and more functional space for our growing family and taking it from this:

To this:

After we painted the room, added the wall of Besta storage (from IKEA), swapped our huge dining table for a round Craigslist score and moved it to the corner with the new banquette seating, the space still felt a little…under decorated.  There’s not much pattern going on, and there’s a lot of white and beige, as you can see in the pic above.  I didn’t want the space to be too busy, so I thought it was time to bring in some pattern with new curtains!  These were actually ordered from jcp.com (who knew they had curtains??).  So here they are in their new home:

I think I love them for this space, but I’m reserving the right to change my mind and add them to a different room at some point.  I like that they have great pattern and texture but that they are neutral enough to visit another room if they want to.

Slowly, the dining room is transforming into what we want.  At the very least, it is much more functional for us now, which is key!  Next I’ll focus on figuring out the pillow situation on the banquette–the two there are just place holders for now.  I’m toying with the idea of using some of the leftover fabric from the kitchen curtain to help tie the spaces together a bit more.  You can see it here on the new faux roman shade I made:

No decision yet about a rug for the room–in our effort to keep it functional, we need to deal with the fact that our daughter makes a gigantic mess at least 2-3 times a day in that room while eating/doing physics experiments with her food.  Still considering an indoor/outdoor rug, but we’re just not sure yet!

Cheers,

G

4 thoughts on “Curtain Call

  1. Pingback: covering up | the2bedroomblues

I welcome your feedback, ideas, and comments!

