Sneak Peek!

By popular demand, I thought I’d do a quick post of a few pics of our new house.  Only in pictures can you truly appreciate the glorious 70s-ness of our new nest.
What did we find under the wallpaper?  More wallpaper!

And lots of it!

Here’s a shot of the lovely wood paneling surrounding the fireplace:

More wood paneling + RED carpet in one of the bedrooms:

And, finally, the lovely yellow overload kitchen:

What do you think?  We definitely have our work cut out for us, eh?

Cheers,

Gillian

13 thoughts on “Sneak Peek!

  1. So exciting!!!!!!!!!!!!! It’s going to be great I’m sure. Oh paneling…. Two words for you, adhesive primer. It will be your new best friend if you’re cheap like me and just live with your paneling. I like to call our house that house that paneling built. Even our basement bar is made out of paneling.
    Good luck! Can’t wait to see what you do!

    • Hi Mary! Tell me more about this adhesive primer. We’re planning to remove the paneling on the main level, but in the basement we’re not going to for at least a couple years since it isn’t our top priority. Is there a specific brand you recommend? Or anything else from your experience you can tell me for advice? Thanks!
      Gillian

      • We used Sherwin Williams paint everywhere in our house, just because we get a discount there. I imagine any adhesive primer would work though. Apparently, sometimes when you paint paneling, even if you use regular primer, the paint can sag. Terrible!
        Adhesive primer stays a little tacky, even when it’s dry. I only used it on paneling that hadn’t been painted. Hope that helps!
        Mary

      • Thanks for the tips! I’ve never even heard of paint “sagging” so this is good to know! Once I use the adhesive primer, I should be able to paint with regular paint though, correct?

    • Thanks Helen! It really is epic. I don’t think everything has fully sunk in! We are really excited about the fireplace too, although we need to have it looked at before we can use it–and apparently there is no floo?? But it will certainly be an adventure!

  2. So exciting! Lots to do, and tons of adventures to come, but in the end I know you will make it look absolutely fantastic!! Can’t wait to see your journey!!

  3. Pingback: Embracing toddlerhood | the2bedroomblues

  4. Gillian: When my parents moved in to their new house when I was first born, the entire kitchen there was also completely yellow. They called it LASTNAME disease, after the previous owners. So whenever they saw that 70s shade of yellow, they would say “oh, it looks like that house has LASTNAME disease!” (name change to protect the innocent, since they went to high school with us!)

    • That’s hilarious! Yes, the previous owner clearly liked what she liked, and I have to respect that! But the place certainly does have LASTNAME disease! Although perhaps many years down the road when we finally sell our house to a new family, they’ll have the same reaction: what were they thinking?!? Thanks for reading!

I welcome your feedback, ideas, and comments!

