Faux-abulous

It’s done!  Just in time for our lives to get crazy-busy with the new house purchase, I have completed Sydney’s Christmas present: a newly re-finished play kitchen.

Ta da!

  You can read more about how I found it here.  When I purchased this secondhand, it needed a bit of TLC, and bunch of paint:

After fixing the wobbly bits and fitting the oven with some plexiglass, I set to work on the painting.  I sanded the whole thing down, and gave the cabinets a couple coats of primer inside and out.  Then I painted the interiors of the cabinets; I used gray for the interior of the oven and white for the cupboard.  I then finished the outside with semi-gloss white paint that was leftover from the trim in her nursery.

The most fun part of the project, however, were the faux granite countertops I did to help tie her kitchen into ours (read more about our kitchen remodel here).  I was a bit nervous about this part but it was actually a pretty quick project! I did a Pinterest search to see if anyone had tried this before, and I did see this post; this blogger actually did a faux granite for her actual kitchen!  I didn’t follow her tutorial exactly, but it was definitely helpful to read over.

For my faux-abulous granite counters I first primed the counters with gray primer, and then I used a sponge to apply layers of shades of gray acrylic paint.  I just started with a very dark charcoal shade, and kept lightening it up as I added layers.  Once everything was dry, I added two coats of polycrylic for durability.  Here’s a closer up pic of the countertop:

I love how well the play kitchen feels a part of ours, right down to the countertops:

I’m very pleased with the way it turned out and I’m a little sad that Christmas is still two months away because I’m so excited for Sydney to have this to play with.  But this time of the year always flies by, and I’m sure it will go especially quickly now that we’re busy with the new house as well.  In the meantime, I’ll continue to enjoy the good-old-fashioned before-and-after pictures!

Are you DIYing any holiday gifts this year?  Do you have a play kitchen you love?  Tried the faux granite thing before?  I’d love to hear about it!

Cheers,

Gillian

6 thoughts on “Faux-abulous

  1. Pingback: Stair Master, part 1 | the2bedroomblues

  2. Pingback: The everything room: inspiration | the2bedroomblues

  3. The play kitchen is adorable! I found one on Craigslist and it also needs some TLC. I’d like to make it match my kitchen as well, so thanks for the tips on faux granite-top. I was thinking of just putting contact paper down, but I like the idea of painting it. I do have a question, though. The piece I looked at was MDF, but looks exactly like yours. Is yours solid wood? I don’t know much about woodworking, but I thought it wouldn’t be possible to sand down MDF with a veneer finish. How did you do it? Thanks so much!

    • Hi Tanya! I think that the piece probably is MDF, but it was already painted so I just lightly sanded it and then painted it. I don’t think I even used primer and it has held up pretty well. Let me know if you have other questions. Good luck!!

      Cheers,
      G

  4. Hi! I just love, love your blog! I know this post was from awhile back, but I’m hoping you could still help me. I just bought a 4 piece set exactly like yours- stove/oven combo, fridge, washer/dryer, & dishwasher. It is in much need of a makeover and I have no idea where to start. Painting actually scares me. :/ Would you mind telling me what sandpaper grit I should stick with so I can make sure to have a smooth finish. And do I just prime and then paint with acrylic? Do you recommend a particular brand of paint and primer? And is there something I need to use for a final coat to make it more durable? I guess I just want to make sure it can handle hard play and still be safe for the little one. Oh, and last question….is there a certain kind of brush I should stick with to minimize streaks? Sorry for all the questions! Thank you in advance for your help!! 🙂

    • Hi! I’m happy to help, although I’m by no means an expert in painting furniture . There are definitely a lot of DIY bloggers out there who do this way more than me so you could look at a few tutorials and compare notes. Basically, you want to start with a medium grit sandpaper to rough up the surface a bit, and use fine sandpaper between coats. That being said, I didn’t do a ton of sanding when I did this project because I didn’t have good access to an outdoor space. Sanding will help with adhesion though. I’d start with primer (any will work, really, but spray primers I sometimes find give a smoother cover). I used regular latex paint for everything except I think for the counter. For that I used acrylic so I could to the multi-layered color. I’d top any surface you want to make extra durable with a clear finish like acrrylac, and give it plenty of time to cure before putting it into play with a real kiddo. Oh, and to minimize streaks, I go with spray paint, but a foam brush also works well. Hope that helps!
      Cheers,
      Gillian

I welcome your feedback, ideas, and comments!

