outdoors update

I can’t believe I’ve neglected to post about our updated patio area!  I posted awhile back about my plans for this sad old deck area:

deck beforeI made a mood board with inspiration for a lush deck space perfect for lounging:

Patio ideas

And I think we came pretty close!  

patio 1We purchased a patio set from Target, and a few pillows from Target and Lowe’s.  The rug is an outdoor rug from Ballard Designs. 

patio 2aThe bowl on the coffee table and the aqua lanterns were Target clearance finds, and the table they are sitting on in the corner was one we had on our back steps at our condo.  The aqua pint-sized lawn chairs were a dollar a piece from a friendly yard sale down the street!

My sister was super helpful with picking out and planting the flowers around the patio area (thanks sis!).  I’m gadening-ly challenged so it was especially nice to get some help with that part!

We still don’t spend as much time out here as I’d like but plans in 2014 include expanding the deck so that it connects from the sliding doors we had installed during the kitchen/dining reno:

CIMG4478But until then we’re enjoying our little deck just fine, and we’re very happy to have a bit of outdoor space.  I’ll post soon about our outdoor eating area too – but when I snapped these photos the other day it was covered in another project (hint: some yellow cabinet doors were getting a face-lift!).

Here’s to enjoying the last weeks of summer!

Cheers,

G

5 thoughts on “outdoors update

I welcome your feedback, ideas, and comments!

