Fall mantle

I love that our new house has a mantle.  It was the one thing that I felt like we were missing in our previous home (besides adequate space once we went from 2 to 3!).  I’ve really enjoyed the little bits of time I’ve found to play around with decorating our mantle; even before we moved in put up a mirror I snapped this shot of some sunflowers DH had bought for me resting there!

IMG_20130613_163312You can see that the mirror was an early addition (it has previously lived in our bedroom).  We’ve since painted the mantle from beige to white, and what an improvement!  It looks so crisp and proper now instead of muddy and beige-y.  For summer, I had fun styling a simple mantle–with just two plants in white pots and a sea grass basket:

new slipper chair and mantleBut for fall I wanted to try something a bit more involved.  Although I usually think of fall colors as being oranges and yellows and browns, I knew that wouldn’t look very good with the new slipper chair you can see in the pic above which now lives in front of the fireplace.  So instead I went for a palette that compliments the chair but still leans in the autumnal direction.   I wanted to do something with a lot of varying textures and pull the brown tones out from the chair a bit.  I found some great oil-rubbed bronze lanterns at T.J. Maxx which helped inspire the entire mantle:

fall mantle 1I found a great twiggy pumpkin at Michaels too, and added that into the mix, along with some white mini pumpkins and hedge apples from our local farmers market.  I elevated the pumpkins on chunky silver candle holders meant for pillar candles, and the hedge apples went into some  large clear glass vases.

fall mantle 2I also picked up some faux acorns from Michaels and filled a few smaller vases with them, and grabbed by white ceramic owl (which I got signed by Sherry and John from younghouselove last year when they were on their book tour!) to add a bit of quirky-ness to the scene.  It is really a fun spot in the house now!

fall mantle 3

And a far cry from what it looked like last fall when we first bought the house!

fireplace originalWhat’s on your fall mantle?

Cheers,

G

2 thoughts on “Fall mantle

  1. Pingback: Fireplace makeover Part 2: Whitewashed brick | the2bedroomblues

  2. Pingback: Christmas Decorating, Year 1 | the2bedroomblues

I welcome your feedback, ideas, and comments!

