Thanksgiving Thanks

In lieu of another house update, I wanted to do a brief post about what I am thankful for.  So much of a blog that chronicles the ups and downs of fixing up a fixer-upper seems to focus on what is yet to be done.  So, at least for today, I wanted to focus on what I am thankful for.  No surprise…it isn’t a big long list of house to-dos!

1. My family–my amazing husband and my wonderful daughter.  I love them to pieces.  I love that DH makes me breakfast every morning and that Sydney gives me huge running hugs when I get home from work.  And I love that we are all together in our new house for the holidays after being in transition for more than a year.  And this year my sister moved to Chicago and the three of us have really enjoyed having her in town.  It is so nice to occasionally have an extra set of hands (and a shopping buddy!).

2. Our house!  Even though this house is full to the brim with unfinished projects, it is still a great house and I am so thankful we were able to buy it last year and start giving it some much-needed TLC.  And even though it isn’t anywhere near finished, we still have an AMAZING new kitchen and bathroom, so I can always retreat to those areas when the less finished spaces get me down!

3. My job.  Even though I work more than I should and wish I could be home more with my family and that I had more time to work on blogging and on house projects, I still do love my job and am so thankful to have a job at all since I know so many families are still struggling.  I do not take it for granted that I have a steady and interesting job with great colleagues.

I will be working all week at being thankful for what I do have instead of focusing on what I do not have (or have not yet done).  I find that this is the perfect time of year to really re-focus on what is truly important in life.  Peace and blessings today to you and yours!

Cheers,

G

I welcome your feedback, ideas, and comments!

