Our second nursery

Our second daughter turned one last week.  I can’t believe it.  Truly I can’t.  It seems like just the other day I was bringing her home and taking a blogging break and now she’s crawling around and getting into all sorts of mischief!

In the busyness of it all, I realized I never did a final ‘reveal’ post of the nursery!  When I last posted an update on the nursery she wasn’t born yet, so I thought with her birthday being just last week this would be a great time to finally share what I did in her room!

This space really has gone through an amazing transformation!

Nursery before and after

We were able to limit spending on this space by re-using some of the things from our first nursery like the crib, rug, and crib sheets (you can see pics of our first nursery here).  Even with those same elements, this space has a very different look and feel than the first nursery because we used a different mix of colors.  I also saved money by putting on my creative hat and pulling out the sewing machine to DIY a few things.  For example, the crib skirt and one of the pillows are made from a fabric shower curtain, and the curtain is actually a flat sheet (I used the same method I used for our living room curtains).  I also re-finished a thrift store side table that I had picked up and it is the perfect thing for the room.  I like that the darker blue and aged brass pull help tone down the girliness of the the pops of coral throughout the room.  Oh and the gold lamp was an old lamp we had sitting in the basement for years that got a second wind with a quick coat of gold spray paint.

Nursery reveal side table

Saving money was essential so that we could pay for my favorite part of the room: the new built-in radiator cover/bookshelf.  In my last post these beauties had just been installed, but more than a year later I’m still totally in love!

Nursery built-in radiator cover

 

I also finally got around to hanging up some art to make a little gallery wall.  This one truly is eclectic–it includes a nursery print I purchased years ago for our first nursery, a watercolor painting from Sydney (circa 2 years old I think?), an IKEA postcard, a catalog cover, and a capiz shell mirror that was hanging around in our basement for years.

Nursery Gallery Wall

I also added some art to our closet changing table area which helps the space feel more like part of the room instead of like a closet (read more about turning a closet into a changing table room here).

Nursery changing room 2

Other finishing touches I added to the room include some DIY initial art (using the same method as I did for Sydney years ago):

Initial Art for the nursery

and some pillows to make floor time a bit snugglier and more comfortable for adults.  The larger pillow I made from the leftover shower curtain fabric (you can see below that it matches the crib skirt) and the smaller pillow is made from an extra baby blanket.  Oh, and the awesome sculptural floor lamp is from Target.  LOVE.

Nursery cushions and pillows

So there you have it–our second nursery for our second daughter.  I had so much fun with this makeover–hope you enjoyed it too!

Cheers,

G

I welcome your feedback, ideas, and comments!

