Tiny bathroom DIY remodel reveal!

How excited am I that I’m finally (more or less) done with our hall bathroom remodel??

This has been a looooong journey, but that’s how it goes with DIY when you’re not a full-time DIY blogger.  I’ve posted some of the progress recently including replacing the bathroom vanity and faucet and installing vinyl tile, and when I last left off, things were looking pretty good:

hall bathroom floor afterBut things were still looking pretty un-finished on the wall you can’t see very well in the above pic.  Here’s a shot of that in-progress wall from the other side of the room:

Hall bathroom board and batten in progress 3.jpgNot pretty, is it?  Next I installed the boards and battens just like I did on the opposite wall.  It was a great chance to use the very exciting nail gun DH bought for me for my birthday last year!  The only difference was that for this part of the bathroom, I used a 1×6 board instead of a 1×2 board for the top part in order to create a shelf above the toilet area:

hall bathroom reveal shelf.jpg

Notice a few other finishing touches?   In addition to the board and batten wall treatment and the shelf, I also painted the medicine cabinet…again.  This time I painted it white to match the rest of the white trim in the bathroom.  Now everything flows very nicely and there’s no “choppiness” which helps in such a small space.   I also installed a towel rod and toilet roll holder, which my daughter is very excited about since she went without one for about 2 months while this project was in-progress!  I also added some towel rods to the back of the door for another spot to hang towels when we have guests:

Back of door towel rods.jpg

Every inch counts in a small bathroom!  I also had some fun shopping the house for some decor for the newly installed shelf:

Bathroom reveal 1.jpgI found the candle and bowl in my stash of extra decorating stuff.  The cotton balls are in a cute cork-topped container that originally held Epsom salts.  The frame holds a catalog cover that had just come in the mail.  I thought the beach glass would be perfect for this slightly-beachy bathroom.  The white starfish were a gift to Sydney from her aunt from a recent trip she took to Hawaii.  She was pretty excited to find them a home in her bathroom!  The towels are actually not real towels, but clearance napkins from Target.  I love that they look like turkish towels, but were only about $2 each–and they actually do work as towels!  I think they really help pull the whole bathroom remodel together.

I still have a few finishing touches I’d love to do in here, but given that there are other parts of the house more desperately calling for attention I’m calling this one done for now!

For fun, here’s a little walk down memory lane.  Our bathroom when we moved in:

hall bathroom before

And our interim solution:

hall bathroom new shower curtain

The crazy middle….

bathroom demo

And, finally, our new, DIY’ed bathroom remodel!

hall bathroom reveal 2.jpg

Still can’t believe I pulled this one off!

Linking up to: Thrifty Decor Chick

Cheers,
G

5 thoughts on “Tiny bathroom DIY remodel reveal!

  1. Great idea with the napkins turned towels. Could you tell me where you got the great inky blue coral print from? Thanks.

    • The “battens” are just small lathe strips (about 1.5″ I think). They are very easy to work with ad pretty thin. On the higher side we placed them at about 5 1/2′ and on the shorter side at 4′.

I welcome your feedback, ideas, and comments!